Skip to main content

About DofE


DofE logo‚Äč

A DofE programme is a real adventure from beginning to end. It doesn’t matter who you are or where you’re from. If you are in Year 9 but are only 13 years old, you may be able to start a Bronze DofE programme.  You then have until your 25th birthday to complete any or all levels.

The Award

You can do programmes at three levels: Bronze, Silver or Gold.

You achieve an Award by completing a personal programme of activities in four sections. 

These sections are volunteering, physical, skills and expedition.

At Gold level you also need to complete a fifth, residential section.

You choose what you do

Your programme can be full of activities and projects that get you buzzing. Along the way you’ll pick up experiences, friends and talents that will stay with you for the rest of your life. You'll find yourself helping people or the community, getting fitter, developing skills and going on an expedition.

What you have to do

A full Award consists of an hour a week of volunteering, an hour a week of physical activity, an hour a week of a skill activity (for example, learning a new hobby or skill), and completing two expeditions (a practice and a qualifying expedition).

At Gold level, you go away for five days (residential) to take part in some form of purposeful activity.