Skip to main content

Training and Employment

Mark

What is your current job and what does your role involve?Onside Football logo

My current role is a football coach/P.E. teacher for Onside Football. I go to primary schools to teach football, gymnastics and science of the body. I also do after school clubs in football. We also manage our schools squad and league matches and tournaments. I then do from 5pm football coaching sessions. So it is a full day working from 8am to 7pm most days, travelling from school to coaching sessions, luckily I passed my driving test at 17 years old.

What training and education did you do to get to where you are today?

I went to Heathfield Primary School where I really struggled until I got a statement in Year 5 as Dyslexic, I found English difficult but excelled at maths and science. I then went to Twickenham Academy who helped me gain GCSE’s and qualification in Life Skills.

Are you still working towards any qualifications?

I left school at 16 years old and started to work with Onside Football, I have many qualifications:

  • FA Football Coaching Level 1
  • FA Talent ID Level 1
  • Safeguarding
  • First Aid

FA Football Coaching Level 2 has been postponed due to Covid.

I have to renew my coaching license each year and by keeping my qualification up to date with Continuing Professional Development (CPD) exams.

What support did you get to help you achieve your goals? This could be from school, support workers, careers support, AfC support etc..

I would like to thank my teacher from Heathfield Primary School who supported me (and I now work at my old primary school, how strange).

With the excellent support of my 121 support teacher, Sarah, from Twickenham Academy who I had a real connection with.

And of course Simon and Paul from Onside Football, who I have known since I was 4 years old, they saw something in me and offered me a job in a career that I love.

If you are working - how has your employer supported you?

The FA and Onside Football are very supportive and encouraging with my day to day work schedule and the continuing qualifications I have to revise for.

What have been your biggest challenges?

English has been my biggest challenge but with the support of my family and teachers I have learnt to manage dyslexia.

What is the best thing about your job, apprenticeship or training programme?

The best part of my job is working with young people and improving their abilities, helping students like myself and offering them support, giving back to the community, coaching the next generation.

What do you hope to do in the future?

I would really like to help students with dyslexia - that would be the dream. I would like attend school assemblies to inspire young people.